Paper Butterflies – Lisa Heathfield

Amazon

Waterstones

June’s life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one – and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She’s trapped like a butterfly in a net.

But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom . . . but at what price?

My Thoughts

Why did I wait so long to read this book, It literally changed my life. After reading this book I have a whole new outlook on life and others. It may seem a bit deep but this book honestly touched me so much.

I got so emotional reading about June’s life it was just so sad and her story only got more intense as the book went on.  The whole way through the book your heart will ache for June and you’ll wish that you could just take her away and solve her problems but you can’t.

I felt deeply connected to June as the story went on and I learnt more and more about her.

Towards the end of the book there is a big twist that I wasn’t expecting and only once you’ve read it will you understand how jaw dropping it is!

I think the thing that struck me the most about this book was that somebody out there, In the big wide world, probably has a hard life like June’s and it made me realise how fortunate I am and the people around me.

Rating: 5/5

Published By: Electric Monkey

One thought on “Paper Butterflies – Lisa Heathfield

Leave a comment