Since Last Summer – Joanna Philbin

Image result for since last summer joanna philbin

Rory McShane should be excited to spend the summer in East Hampton with Connor Rule, her generous, smart, cute boyfriend. After all, Rory’s no longer the hired help at the Rule family mansion on the beach, and she and Connor have made it through a year of long-distance dating. But now, in the months leading up to college, Rory can’t help but wonder if she really belongs in Connor’s world.

Isabel Rule is still trying to get over Mike, the devastatingly sexy surfer who broke her heart last summer. Enter Evan, an aspiring filmmaker who’s kind, funny, and crushing on Isabel. He’d be the perfect summer fling — so why can’t she seem to forget about Mike?

Set against a backdrop buzzing with the rich, the famous, and the wannabe rich and famous, Since Last Summer, a companion novel to Rules of Summer, is the perfect beach read.

My Thoughts

I read “Rules Of  Summer” the  first book in the series way back in 2013 and loved it, I loved the characters and all the events that took place.

Since I read the first book a long time ago I didn’t really remember a lot from it so I was kind of going into the book blind. This was a lovely quick and light read but I expected a lot more from this book because the previous novel was so packed with goodness and I felt that this novel lacked that. Don’t get me wrong though this was still a great book!!

The dual perspective bit of the book made it so much more interesting, it was so good to be in the head of both Isabel and Rory because it made you connect with the characters so much more and you got to understand their personalities and the struggles they go through.

I finished this book so quickly, I think I might have broken my own personal record! The story progressed quickly which made the whole book more intriguing. Even though I guessed the ending I still loved it as the writing was beautiful.

Let me know if you’ve read this series or are planning too!!

Rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

