BLOG TOUR A Change Is Gonna Come

A Change is Gonna Come.jpg

Featuring top Young Adult authors and introducing a host of exciting new voices, this anthology of stories and poetry from BAME writers on the theme of change is a long-overdue addition to the YA scene.

Contributors include Tanya Byrne, Inua Ellams, Catherine Johnson, Patrice Lawrence, Ayisha Malik, Irfan Master, Musa Okwonga and Nikesh Shukla.

Plus introducing four fresh new voices in YA fiction: Mary Bello, Aisha Bushby, Yasmin Rahman and Phoebe Roy.

If you use twitter frequently or not you will have heard about the A Change Is Gonna Come anthology. There are so many amazing stories and poems that resonate with you.

I’ve decided to talk about the first poem in the anthology called The Elders On The Wall by Muse Okwonga. The first six words are what made me fall in love with this poem “I wish to change the world” I felt like it was written for me, I felt like the state the worlds in now loads of people are feeling the same way and I wish that I could change a lot of things but I can’t because as it says in the poem “their’s a thousand mile high wall with no visible place to grip”

Again I felt through the whole of the poem that it just spoke to me and the hardships that life can bring us through the choices we have to make and that how that the majority of the time we are afraid of what’s to come but like it says in the poem “Change is hard” I think that phrase especially speaks to younger generations as I feel like sometimes we lose hope when trying to accomplish something. The Elders On The Wall really hits home on the fact that change is hard but A change is going to come!

I think the best thing about this poem is that it’s up for interpretation and there are so many different ways that people can take it.  I took it in the way it talks about the world today. How did you take it?

Preorder now from Amazon

Leave a Reply

