Ms Marvel Vol.1 by G.Wilson

51LGrM5dxoL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Amazon

Marvel Comics presents the all-new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation! Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City – until she is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the all-new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! As Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to handle? Kamala has no idea either. But she’s comin’ for you, New York!

My Thoughts

So this was the first comic I’d read in a while(over a year) and as much as I liked it, the more I’ve reflected on it the more problematic I find it.

I’m a huge Marvel fan and so Marvel is my go to for comics, don’t get me wrong though I love a bit of DC comics too ūüėČ

Going into this comic I didn’t actually know much except that this girl was suddenly going to have some extraordinary gift given to her.I didn’t know that the main character was going to be from a Muslim background so when I found this out I was quite happy as I rarely see this in comics! I however later found that the comic showed the stereotype of¬†Muslims such as Strict parents, I found this ruined it a bit for me.

The character was quite relatable in the sense she felt like she didn’t fit into the crowd at her school.This is quite a diverse comic but again I also felt like her character wasn’t relatable to people of a Muslim Background because personally I felt like it was saying that her being Muslim stopped her from doing things and I just felt like thats not a good portrayal.

I’m still a bit conflicted on this so I don’t know if I’ll be reading the next volume.

Rating: 3/5

Published By:Marvel Comics

Leave a Reply

