Guest Post By Kate Hart

 

Today on my blog, I have a lovely treat in the form of Kate Hart, author of After the Fall. 

The lovely Kate Hart has done a guest post on her favourite places to visit.So without further ado!
My favorite way to vacation is to point the car west and drive, preferably toward a mountain or two, and cover as much territory as possible. So when Liv asked me to choose a few favorite places, I couldn’t do it — I have too many. However, lots of them are here in Arkansas, and since my upcoming book is also set here, I decided to share a few of my favorite places in my state.
The Buffalo National River
In 1972, the Buffalo became the first national river designated in the United States. The area hosts the state’s only elk population, and the surrounding Ozark Mountains are full of great hiking, including…
Hawksbill Crag (also known as Whitaker Point)
A mile and half down the trail, you’ll find this iconic outcropping, reportedly the most photographed place in the state. It’s the inspiration for Eagle Point in After the Fall.
Lost Valley
This waterfall falls out of a cave, which can be explored if you have the proper equipment (I never do, alas).
Bull Shoals Lake and the White River
Bull Shoals is one of four lakes created by the White River, but it’s my favorite. The water stays cold all summer, thanks to clear depths that are popular with scuba divers. (I just swim and fish in it myself.)
And because my current WIP is set elsewhere, I’m cheating and including one more location: 
The Wichita Mountain Wildlife Refuge in southwest Oklahoma
The Refuge is a protected area carved out of Comanche lands. It’s rumored to house hidden treasures from outlaws like Jesse James, the Dalton Gang, and Belle Starr, but the real main attractions are the buffalo. Though hunted almost to extinction in the late 1800s, a new herd was established in 1907 by FDR, and greeted upon arrival by Chief Quanah Parker. You can hike to the top of Elk Mountain for a panoramic view of the park, or drive up Mt. Scott (shown here) for a stellar sunset.
I would like to thank Kate for writing this wonderful post! And also like to promote her book After The Fall which you can purchase from Amazon !!!
Leave a Reply

