BLOGMAS 2016 – Interview with Katlyn Duncan

So since Christmas is this week, I have decided to gift you with another interview by the wonderful Katlyn Duncan

You can contact Katlyn on her Website or by twitter @katlyn_duncan . BUT until then you can read an interview I did with her until then!

Picture

First Question-What made you want to write YA?
I’ve always felt a connection with characters in the YA age range. My teenage years were the hardest and most fun times of my life and I enjoy going back there in my mind with my characters. And I still feel like a kid at heart so that’s where I choose to write.

 How long does it take you to write and do you have a specific place to write?

What a loaded question! I suppose you mean write an entire book…and that really depends. It depends on length and timing. If I’m writing a full novel without a deadline, it always takes longer (maybe a couple of months for the first draft). But when I’m on deadline, I write much faster. I’d have to say the quickest I’ve ever written a first draft was five weeks and that’s with writing 7 days a week!

I tend to get a lot of writing done at my desk. Though there’s also the tendency for distractions. I have to log out of all social media accounts to really get my words flowing or else I’m back and forth during my session. With the new Scrivener iOS app, I’ve also been writing on the go, mostly at the gym while I’m doing cardio, only while sitting on a bike though, I haven’t mastered walking and writing yet!

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I love to read (obviously) and I’m obsessed with television. Right now my current favorites are This Is Us and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, to name a few. I even guest post on TvIsMyPacifier.com for recaps and reviews of these shows.

 Do you have a music playlist that you listen to and if so what’s on there?

I have to listen to instrumental music while writing or I tend to lose focus. My playlists vary from project to project. For ‘The Life After trilogy’ I was really into darker classical music and epic movie soundtracks. The last scene in ‘Soul Possessed’ was inspired by the song ‘The Game Has Changed’ from the Tron: Legacy soundtrack.

For ‘This Summer’ I listened to a lot of country, usually before a writing session since I can’t listen to lyrics while writing. One of the top songs was ‘Easy’ by Rascal Flatts and Natasha Bedingfield.

Describe “This Christmas” in 3 words

Fun, festive, sweet.

What made you want to write “This Christmas”

Normally after writing a book, I try to step away from it for some time, but I wanted to know more about Hadley and Will (from ‘This Summer’) and what their relationship would look like months later. And that timeline put me right around the holidays, which was perfect since I’ve never written a holiday romance before that.

What is your next book about?

My next book, ‘As You Lay Sleeping’, is a young adult thriller. I don’t want to give much away so you can check out the synopsis on my website, if you dare… http://www.katlynduncan.com/as-you-lay-sleeping.html (cover coming soon!)

If you weren’t a writer what would you be?

I worked in the medical field for years before writing full-time. I would probably go back to that if I wasn’t given the opportunity to stay home. There are a lot of story ideas in that field!

Leave a Reply

