BLOGMAS DAY 20- Guest Post by Zara Stoneley

It’s getting closer and closer to Christmas guys! Who’s Excited? 

Today I have a guest post by the lovely Zara Stoneley! A Bit of info about her below:

Zara Stoneley was born in a small village in Staffordshire and wanted to be James Herriot when she grew up. After completing an IT degree, working as a consultant, running a dog grooming business, teaching, and working at a veterinary practice she decided she had more than enough material to write several books even if she would never qualify as a vet!

She is the author of the Tippermere series (Stable Mates, Country Affairs and Country Rivals) published by HarperCollins, as well as several standalone novels.  Snuggle up this winter with her latest book ‘The Holiday Swap’- the perfect cosy, Christmas read which will whisk you from Cheshire to Barcelona, and back again!

Zara is currently writing the first book of a new series, which will be published by HarperCollins in 2017 – look out for a hot vet and the most gorgeous country village ever!

Before I hand over this post to Zara I should just let you all know that, you can find out more about Zara on her website www.ZaraStoneley.com. she also spends far too much time on social media so go and follow her on  Twitter and  Facebook   You can follow her travels in Barcelona and Cheshire on Instagram, and explore the inspiration behind her books on Pinterest.

Without futher ado….

It doesn’t feel like Christmas until… – Zara Stoneley

I love Christmas. I’m one of those people that doesn’t like starting too early – decorations in the shops in October is a step too far for me. But once I get into the Christmas spirit, usually around the second week of December, then I’m fully into it. These are some of my ‘must do’ things – what about you?

Watch ‘The Holiday’ and ‘Love Actually’. There are other festive films I enjoy, but these two are guaranteed to make me feel totally in the mood.

Toast marshmallows on the fire – cheap, easy, gooey and delicious. Though ours are often a bit singed, and ahem, have been known to catch fire.

Make (and drink) mulled wine. The smell of mulled wine, along with pine needles, just says Christmas. It’s also delicious with a mince pie or sausage roll – and the perfect accompaniment to a good film (see above).

Build a snowman. I can be quite a serious person, but this is one thing I reckon you’re allowed to do whatever your age. You’re also allowed to have snowball fights, and to roll down a bank if you can find one (like Flo does in The Holiday Swap) – in fact I’d say it’s obligatory.

Eat roast chestnuts and walk round the Christmas market. We have a great market in our small town and until I’ve walked round, bought yet another tree decoration I have to have, and sampled some of the food then I don’t feel like it’s properly Christmas.

Trim the tree. It has to be real, it has to be big, it has to be overloaded with decorations, and it has to have been knocked over by the cat at least once!

 

I hope you have a lovely Christmas whatever you end up doing, and whoever you’re spending it with.

Zara x

 

Leave a Reply

