Asking For It – Louise O’Neill

25255576

Waterstones

Amazon

It’s the beginning of the summer in a small town in Ireland. Emma O’Donovan is eighteen years old, beautiful, happy, confident. One night, there’s a party. Everyone is there. All eyes are on Emma.

The next morning, she wakes on the front porch of her house. She can’t remember what happened, she doesn’t know how she got there. She doesn’t know why she’s in pain. But everyone else does.

Photographs taken at the party show, in explicit detail, what happened to Emma that night. But sometimes people don’t want to believe what is right in front of them, especially when the truth concerns the town’s heroes…

My Thoughts

I am such a massive fan of Louise O’Neill. I read her first book Only Ever Yours a while back and I fell in love with her writing as well as the realness of her books.

Asking For It is a book that challenges you mentally. When I started the book I knew the outline of the story but I didn’t know that the main character would test me so much. Emma is awful to her friends and she is basically a bitch and Louise O’Neill is very clever by making Emma this way because it makes us as readers question if Emma deserved any  of the things she encountered and obviously the answer is NO! Nobody deserves to be raped and then end up with no one

I can now say that Louise O’Neill is officially the Queen of portraying reality! While I was reading Asking For It, I was questioning my part in the world and how much social media dominates my life and how Social Media can destroy a life so easily.

I found it incredibly hard to pick an emotion when reading this book and it was partly down to all the different characters. Emma’s parents hurt me the most because I constantly felt the need to slap them and scream at them to wake up and realise what happened to their daughter.

The ending shook me so much never in a million years did I expect it to end like that and now even 2 months later I still can’t decide how I feel.

This book has such a powerful message and I am so happy that I read it because I have since reflected on my own life and questioned reality. I cannot put into words how great this book is! I’m so excited to read what Louise writes next!

Rating:5/5

Publsihed by:Quercus Publishing

One thought on “Asking For It – Louise O’Neill

Leave a Reply

