Delirium – Lauren Oliver

Image result for delirium book

Amazon

Waterstones

They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

My Thoughts

Before reading this book I’d heard great things about Lauren Oliver and so I had high expectations when starting the book. I’m going to be honest it was not the best book I’d ever read and I was slightly disappointed about it.

The book started off very slowly and personally I think it only got really good about the last 150 pages of the book but for others it might have been at around 55% I thought this book was going to be a bit more fast paced  but perhaps because it’s a trilogy the action will happen in the next book.

The character I liked the most was Gracie because even though she didn’t talk I felt like you could relate to her on a much deeper level than the other characters. The other characters I felt like I couldn’t really connect too.

I don’t know if I’ll read the next book in the series because even though the ending was really fast paced and intriguing. I don’t know if I would like the second book if I didn’t like the first!

Let me know if you’ve read the series and enjoyed it?

Rating: 3/5

Published by: Hodder & Stoughton

Leave a Reply

