You and Me, Always – Jill Mansel

You And Me, Always

Amazon

Waterstones

On the morning of Lily’s twenty-fifth birthday, it’s time to open the very last letter written to her by her beloved mother, who died when she was eight.

Learning more about the first and only real love of her mum’s life is a revelation. On the same day, Lily also meets Eddie Tessler, a man fleeing fame who just might have the ability to change her world in unimaginable ways. But her childhood friend Dan has his own reasons for not wanting Lily to get too carried away by Eddie’s attentions.

Before long, secrets begin to emerge and Lily’s friends and family become involved. In the beautiful Cotswold village of Stanton Langley, nothing will ever be the same again…

My Thoughts

Before reading You and Me,Always I’d never read a Jill Mansell Book. I spotted this book while browsing through Waterstones,as I do every week, and I thought I might as well pick this up as it’s an author I’ve never read before and I’d only heard great things about!

This book deals with various different topics throughout the book such as grief, romance and friendship. I loved how friendship was a running theme all the way through the book as it reminded me how valuable friends are.The quote on the front of the book is so true “Love comes and goes, friends are forever.” Another thing I loved about this book was that even though romance featured in this book I felt like it wasn’t the main story and was just a minor piece .

The back story that Jill created for each character was so beautiful as right from the beginning of the story you could connect with the characters.Each character had their own problems and even though Lily was the main character the “minor” characters played just as big a part.The main stories for the other characters were:

  • Patsy: To find a man
  • Dan: Dealing with unrequited love
  • Coral:Dealing with grief and learning to live again.

I might add that the minor characters were my favourite, sorry Lily! If I had to choose one character that I loved it would have to be Patsy as I felt I felt so sorry for Patsy as she just seemed to have bad luck when it came to her love life.

I would recommend this book if you are looking for a book with not too much romance and a strong theme of friendship.

Rating:4/5

Published By:

Leave a Reply

