Confessions of A Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella

9416.jpg

Amazon

Becky has a fabulous flat in London’s trendiest neighborhood, a troupe of glamorous socialite friends, and a closet brimming with the season’s must-haves. The only trouble is that she can’t actually afford it–not any of it.

Her job writing at Successful Savings not only bores her to tears, it doesn’t pay much at all. And lately Becky’s been chased by dismal letters from the bank –letters with large red sums she can’t bear to read–and they’re getting ever harder to ignore.

She tries cutting back. But none of her efforts succeeds. Becky’s only consolation is to buy herself something … just a little something….

Finally a story arises that Becky actually cares about, and her front-page article catalyzes a chain of events that will transform her life–and the lives of those around her–forever.

This weekend when I channelled my inner shopaholic, I knew it was destined for me to review a shopaholic book.

Two years ago when I was in New York my cousin gifted me with the ultimate New York City read. This book has since then changed my life for the better to know that I’m not the worst shopaholic out there (even though Rebecca Bloomwood is fictional) it made me laugh to the extent of tears.

When I was first handed this book I thought it was going to be an average read and a book that I’d like however I was immediately mistaken. From the moment I turned the first page I fell in love with this book. Sophie Kinsella writes in such a different way to most, so the only thing you can do is fall in love with the story.

There are many reasons as to why this is a good book. One of the main reasons is that the main character is fairly relatable to most and therefore makes the book even more enjoyable. Personally I feel that the characters are what make up the book more so then the main story. Each character is completely different and so even if you aren’t a shopaholic you will find a character to connect to.

Confessions Of A Shopaholic or The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic, is now over 16 years old. If you haven’t already checked out this hilarious book/series, I urge you to do so!

Rating: 5/5

Published By: Penguin Random House

Leave a Reply

